My childhood in a Third-World Country

As much as you would like to read that I grew up in a place where we did not have cars, airplanes, buildings and  all that kind of stuff developed countries have then I will disappoint you. I was born in 1991 and probably most kids in my country did not have all of the technology a 90’s kid from USA had, but let me tell you one thing: I was blessed! Some people think that in Honduras people don’t have cars, they ride horses or donkeys and live in poorly built houses with just one room. Yes, that is the life of very poor people in Honduras but that’s not how everyone lives.

First year of my life probably was not my best year. My mom and my dad lived in a small room in my grandma’s house (my dad’s mother) ,and I lived in that room too. My mom says it lacked so much space, it was depressing. Both of my parents loved me very much, but my mom’s family was not happy about my birth because they disliked my father, he was not rich or had a good status. So only my mom’s older sister and my dad & his mom and my dad’s best friend were the only persons present at my birth.
But after a year of living in a depressing environment my mom decided we didn’t have a future with my dad, he lacked ambition and motivation. So we left the house and went to live at my other grandma’s house (mom’s mother) and my mom used to work full time, she literally “worked her ass off” to provide everything for me. I got to spend most of the day with my grandma, and she just fell inlove with me, it took very little time to start being spoiled by my mother’s family. And I was the only girl; so, hey that was pretty awesome. I had two cousins (boys) and a brother and then there was me the only girl.
My grandma would spoil me like you have no idea, whatever I wanted was law in our house. My mom is the most loving mother, but I would have to spend more time with the rest of the family than with my own mother because she was always working. My oldest brother lived with his dad, so I never got to interact with him when I was a kid. So my two cousins were like my brothers and they were also my slaves haha (just kidding.. Maybe!). The people who lived at my grandma’s house were my grandma, my grandpa, my mom, her two youngest sisters, my two cousins and me. It was a pretty big house! In our house you would always find tons of visitors, the house was always filled with people, so I was always entertained. We would go on car rides to see the city, we would watch cartoons with my cousins, and I remember we were force to take an afternoon nap (how much I hated it back then and how much I love it now). My grandma always said I was the “Queen” in the family, and my oldest cousin was the “King”, and the rest of her grand kids were princes and princesses.
As much as I loved being spoiled, lets face it spoiling kids too much without discpline ruins them. I was not a bad kid, but I could be a brat sometimes. I had problems when it came to eating: I  puked all the food and could only eat some specific food, not because I was sick but because I was spoiled- bad! And whenever my mom wanted me to do something I would cry and tell my grandma that I didn’t want to do what my mom was asking, so I never did what I didn’t want (except the naps! Haha I always had to take naps) so my mom started having issues with my grandma and my mom and I left my grandma’s house. We went to live with my mom’s brother who was recently married and of course I was spoiled by them, just not as bad as with my grandma. After a time my mother got her own apartment, and I would have to go to work with her. She was manager in a Car Rental, and I had a room there with T.V. where I would watch Cartoons. I want to make a parenthesis and say “My mom is the best mom ever, it took her a while to get her life in order but she is Supermom”. I started going to a Day Care and I would spend most of the time there, it was a very small Day care so I soon became really close to the family who owned it. And it was bilingual Day Care, so you can see in this third-world country English is very important.
As I grew up I had many luxuries that not everyone had, and being spoiled by my mom’s family was a benefit. I would make random trips to Miami, or Disney World for no reason at all (so yes, in Honduras we have planes) I would have all the toys a kid could have, more clothes you could count or need. And our favorite place to travel was: Roatan, the Honduran Paradise. That was my second home growing up.
My favorite time of the year would always be Christmas, because Hondurans celebrate Christmas in such a beautiful way. It’s not only about Santa coming to leave tons of presents but it was a time to spend with all your family and a time to give. Honduras is a very poor country so not everyone was as lucky as I was, so my mom would take me to give food and clothes to poor kids, and she would always make me see how blessed I was. We start celebrating Christmas on Christmas Eve, December 24th and we would have so much food, we would exchange gifts, have music, prayer, and get together next to the tree to hear stories- I have a very funny family. After that we would go to this small town outside close to San Pedro, called “Villanueva” and we would visit my grandma’s family. That was the best part of my night; they throw the best parties ever, and as a Latina I have rhythm in my blood so since I was little I would join the party to dance.
San Pedro Sula is now considered the world’s most dangerous country- topic I will discuss later on. But I am thankful that I grew up in a time where I could still play outside in the street, where I could visit the poor neighborhoods and help kids who weren’t as blessed as I was.
And as you can see, Honduras might not be the world’s richest country, but even back in the 90’s we could travel on airplanes, had ATV or “Quad bikes”, we could watch same cartoons you watched “Winnie The Pooh, Cinderella, Sailor Moon, Dragon Ball Z, etc” and yes we have other fun games like “rayuela, marbles, hide and seek, etc”
This is a beautiful country, a beautiful place to grow up in, just give it a chance!
Hasta la vista,
Adri ❤
This picture is not me or my mom. This is NOT my picture, but it reflects how some people who have financial problems in Honduras live in one tiny room with their kids and does not keep them from being HAPPY!
Image
5 thoughts on “My childhood in a Third-World Country

Leave a Reply

