Honduran Paradise- My happy place.

Although the arms of my wonderful boyfriend could be my perfect, happy place; I must admit that there is one place in Honduras that it’s definitely my happy place, and that would be: Roatan.
I don’t think you’ve been at a real paradise if you haven’t yet visit Roatan. It is located between Guanaja and Útila, and it’s the largest of Honduras’ Bay Islands, and it has the most beautiful waters on earth, crystal clear waters.

20130704-010228.jpg

I will not give you a lecture about Roatan and give you facts and history of this magical place, but I want to talk about Roatan as my happy place.
I must have been 8 years old the first time I went to this paradise, and even though the trip was not pleasant since we had to take the smallest plane there was (and God, that plane made the scariest noise ever). It was all worth it, my eyes had not seen such a beautiful place, only on T.V. I admit that it was love at first sight, the minute I step on land I just couldn’t help it, I fell in love. The feelings that place gave me were just out of this world. It gave me so much peace and happiness, and security as well. I remember just getting in the water and that moment was just priceless, water is so clear you can see your own feet, and waters are so calm that all you do is relax. During the day we would do many activities including one of my favorites- swimming with the dolphins! How blessed is someone who can experience that!? They also have a show with the dolphins, were they do tricks and you can see them so close as well. And how great is it for a kid to be near a dolphin? They are just adorable! So that’s an amazing experience that puts a smile on my face when I can relive that on my mind and heart. At night we would go with my mom and laid on a chair or the sand, and we would count the stars and just listen to the many sounds that nature offers. And even as a kid I used to appreciate those quiet moments, just focusing on what was around me.
I have been at Roatan so many times, and not one time have I felt bored or sad there.

The last time I was at my Honduran paradise it was exactly one year ago, and that moment was priceless. I decided to use the “ferry” service for the first time and I was so worried about it, because honestly I was never into boats, cruises or any water transportation- I must be thraumatized by “Titanic” haha, just kidding. But I am just genuinely afraid of it, so I was concerned that I was going to suffer a panic attack or at least puke on the way to Roatan. Let me tell you that nothing I feared happened, instead it was such a unique experience for me, I felt so free, so happy, like the only girl on the sea. I didn’t sit for a minute, I stood there on the border of the ferry and let the wind blow through my hair, I was open to every single feeling and sensation. I could smell the sea, I could breath it. I could see the most beautiful blue on the water and on the sky, and all I heard were the waves and birds, giving me their perfect melody.
When I got to my destination- West Bay, Roatan- I just went straight back to my childhood, I felt like the first time I had been there, in awe of everything I my eyes were seeing. This time I chose a different hotel, but it was a very successful choice. I decided to give a try to this beautiful and cozy hotel: Mayan Princess. It has the most beautiful rooms, very fun pool (which you would only need at night, because who needs a pool when you have a paradise waiting for you) and the perfect view to the island’s waters. The food was a plus, all you can eat and believe me, you would want to eat all you can. They have the best Piña Coladas and Margaritas, and many other cocktails and non-alcoholic drinks.

20130704-014538.jpg

I am a phone addict, laptop addict and technology addict. But when I got there my phone didn’t exist, the only reason I used it was to write to my boyfriend and take pictures. But all of my time I would spent in the water, getting a tan and this time I tried something new- snorkeling. We paid a tourist guide who was the person in charge of our adventure and we headed to this beautiful place were we practice snorkeling. It is so beautiful to see the many treasures this waters have. Everyday I woke up to see the sunrise, and it is so magical because for that moment nothing else exists, you forget about what worries you, you forget about you need, you forget about what you have to do, in that moment you just breath deep and let nature surround you with LIFE. There’s life in every little thing around you, in the sand that gets in your feet, in the air you breath, in the water that’s two steps away from where you are sitting and in the beautiful sky that slowly switches from night to day. The colors in the sky are just perfect, just like the moment when the sun appears because it’s a brand new day, a new opportunity to live and enjoy what God offers you.

I went to Roatan last year because I had been dealing with Anxiety Disorder, but in my time there I suffered no anxiety. I just had positive feelings and emotions. I felt happy, more than happy I felt a great joy. I felt free, free from stress, worries, problems and negativity. I felt that for once in my life I was truly living, I was aware of every little thing in nature from the tiny bugs, to the fish, the wind, the palm trees, everything. And I enjoyed focusing on those little things, because they never cease to amaze me. In this place your worries will vanish, you’ll only know happiness. It’s a great place to enjoy, to find yourself when you feel lost, to meditate before taking a decision, or to meditate just because.

I invite you to plan your next vacations on Roatan, it’s not just an island it’s paradise- my happy place. I promise you won’t regret.

Hasta la vista,

Adri ❤

20130704-020722.jpg
This is the type of boat we rented for our snorkeling adventure- it’s not the exact same one but it’s similar. Called “lancha”!

20130704-020947.jpg
Dolphin show in Roatan.

*THIS PICTURES ARE ALL FROM
GOOGLE IMAGES. I chose to not post mine for my own privacy! ❤

Leave a Reply

